Rob Presents the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Award to Yellowhead Residents

December 7, 2012

Earlier this year, we celebrated the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty’s accession to the throne as the Queen of Canada.  In light of this momentous occasion, your Government announced the year-long awarding of the Diamond Jubilee Medal to honour not only Her Majesty’s legacy of service, but the accomplishments of hard-working Canadians who made significant contributions to their communities.)

In honour of her Majesty’s legacy of service, the year-long awarding of the Diamond Jubilee Medal will recognize the accomplishments of Canadians who have made significant contributions to their communities.

During this year of celebration, 60,000 medals will be awarded to deserving Canadians of all ages who come from different walks of life.  In our riding of Yellowhead, 30 candidates were chosen from a variety of sectors, both public and private.  From serving in the military and representing the voice of youth communities, to becoming an inspiration for those who need encouragement and long-term care, these exceptional Canadians dedicate their time to bettering the lives of those around them and strengthening the core of our values in the world.



The recipients of the Diamond Jubilee Medals are as follows:

Terry Slemko

Lynda Jonson

Joan Neilsen

Vic Neilsen

Robert W. Dowling

Connie Gatzke

Ian D. McDermid

Albert Schalm

Roy E. Everest

William Purdy

Wolfgang Brettner

Kyle Scott

Rita St. Onge

Chan Duncan

Braden Mole

John Dahl

Irma Gray

Elaine Gunderson

Lenard Szybunka

Colleen Sekura

Dr. Charles V. Godberson

Bernie Hornby

Lambert Veenstra

Anne Auriat

Jesse Lily

Jo Sharlow

Robert W. Guest

Donna Spencer

Renaud Hammond